Get Coronavirus Updates Now
Home Divisions Medical Cannabis Medical Cannabis Patients, Caregivers and Personal Production Licenses

Patients, Caregivers and Personal Production Licenses

You will find the correct form and instructions for first time patients, re-enrolling patients, primary caregivers, personal production, information change, and card replacement on this page.  Directions for completing the paperwork is provided on each form.  Complete applications are processed in the order received at the MCP office.  Incoming mail, general delivery or certified, is routed through the DOH mail room. Please allow 5 working days from the date mailed before checking on your application.

The Medical Cannabis Program may take up to 30 days from the date a complete  application is received at the MCP office to approve or deny the application.  An additional 5 business days are allowed to process and issue the registry identification cards.  We recommend that  applications be submitted 45 to 60 days before expiration to avoid problems obtaining or possessing medical cannabis.

NOTE: All of our application forms have been revised as of June 2019.

New & Returning Patients


The application for first time and returning patients is the same. Please complete the New and Returning Medical Cannabis Patient Application and send it with a copy of your current New Mexico driver's license or state identification card. Temporary New Mexico ID’s are accepted. Patients must also include a medical record from their medical practitioner that supports a qualifying diagnosis.

NOTE:The patient is responsible for ensuring that the application is complete, including medical documentation and records as needed. Incomplete applications will be delayed in processing because a letter requesting missing/additional documentation will be mailed to the patient.

Information for Medical Cannabis Patients

Map of Licensed New Mexico Medical Cannabis Dispensaries



To enroll as a personal caregiver for an existing patient(s), you must complete the Medical Cannabis Caregiver Application. Drop it off or send it to us with a copy of your New Mexico driver's license or state identification card and nationwide background check. Temporary New Mexico ID’s are acceptable. Please review the NMAC 7.34.3 rules for Personal Caregiver if you have questions before applying.

Information for Primary Caregivers

Personal Production License (PPL)


Qualified Patients with current valid enrollment or their primary caregiver who want to produce medical cannabis for the patient must complete the Medical Cannabis Personal Production Application and send it with the $30.00 license fee. Fee waivers are available according to federal poverty guidelines, please see the application for details. Please review the NMAC 7.34.4 section of the NMAC for Qualified Personal Production License before applying.

Information Change or Card Replacement


If your personal information has changed, you have moved, new phone number, stopped using Medical Cannabis, you have lost or damaged your card, etc. you must complete the Medical Cannabis Patient Info Change or Card Replacement form and submit it with your current Patient ID Card and/or Personal Production License Card and a copy of your New Mexico driver's license or state identification card.

NOTE: If the Patient ID Card or Personal Production License is lost or expired your protections under The Lynn and Erin Compassionate Use Act and the Statutory Authority and Rules of New Mexico are compromised. This may leave you open to Law Enforcement action and possible prosecution.

Latest Patient Statistics

Please see the reports below for details on number of active patients in the program, active personal production licenses, number of active patients grouped by qualifying condition, and more.